SMLJ Home Page Header Banner. click for home.
 

Liturgical Seasons

 

Page List

Introduction

Advent

Christmas

Winter Ordinary Time

Lent

Triduum

Easter

Summer Ordinary Time

 

 

Introduction

 

The cycle of the liturgical seasons is one of the richest gifts of Mother Church to her faithful. Through this ebb and flow of Sundays and feasts, we can experience the cycle of the life of Christ. The liturgical year begins with expectant waiting (Advent), nativity (Christmas), beginning of Christ's ministry (Winter Ordinary Time), journey toward His passion and death (Lent), celebration of the passion, death and resurrection of Christ (Triduum), celebration of his resurrection leading to the descent of the Holy Spirit (Easter) and finally the bulk of Christ's public ministry (Summer Ordinary Time).

 

^TOP

 

Advent

 

Begins: Sunday, December 3, 2017 - First Sunday of Advent (at dusk the day before)

Ends: Sunday, December 24, 2017 - Christmas Eve

Go to the Advent Season Page

 

^TOP

 

Christmas

 

Begins: Monday, December 25, 2017 - Christmas Day (at dusk the day before)

Ends: Monday, January 8, 2018 - The Feast of the Baptism of Our Lord

Go to the Christmas Season Page

 

^TOP

 

Winter Ordinary Time

 

Begins: Tuesday, January 9, 2018 - Day after the Feast of the Baptism of Our Lord

Ends: Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - Day before Ash Wednesday

Go to the Winter Ordinary Time Season Page

 

^TOP

 

Lent

 

Begins: Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - Ash Wednesday

Ends: Thursday, March 29, 2018 - Holy Thursday at Dusk

Go to the Lent Season Page

 

^TOP

 

Triduum

 

Begins: Thursday, March 29, 2018 - Holy Thursday beginning at Dusk

Ends: Sunday, April 1, 2018 - Easter Sunday

Go to the Triduum Season Page

 

^TOP

 

Easter

 

Begins: Sunday, April 1, 2018 - Easter Sunday

Ends: Sunday, May 20, 2018 - Pentecost Sunday

Go to the Easter Season Page

 

^TOP

 

Summer Ordinary Time

 

Begins: Monday, May 21, 2018 - Day after Pentecost Sunday

Ends: Saturday, December 1, 2018 - Day before 1st Sunday of Advent

Go to the Summer Ordinary Time Season Page

 

^TOP